Skip to content

My Guitar Is Fried…

06/28/2009

I need a new guitar.  Period.  I’ve owned this strat for a long long time, about 10 years.  I’ve been playing it non-stop ever since I got it.  The frets are worn to no end, and the fretboard needs a deep cleaning.guitar_in_case

The guitar would be in decent shape if it weren’t for the frets.  I could have the fingerboard refretted, but it might cost half the price of the guitar itself.  So it’s about that time to get a new guitar.  I would like to get a real american Strat, but I don’t have the money for that right now.  I’m actually quite broke, so I don’t have the money for a new guitar at all.

But one day I will have the money, and I will go buy a new guitar.   I just have to deal with this guitar in the meantime.

I play a lot in 5th position (a lot of A pentatonic scales), so the 5th, 6th, and 7th frets are worn the most.  When I try to dig into the notes, the strings snap back against the frets and make this quack sound that is displeasing to the ear.  I’ve tried raising the action a bit and adjusting the truss rod, but it hasn’t corrected this problem.  The main strings that are affected are the high E and B strings.  I’d like to learn more about guitar setup, but I feel like I’ve taken decent care of it over the years.  I’ve just played it too much.

But really, can a guitar be played too much?  Well I’ve found out that it can.  But it’s not a bad thing to play too much.  It’s what I love, and it remains my main passion in life.  Drums is my second passion, and web design and development is my third.

Well, that’s all I have to say about that…for now.  Rock on!

From → Songs and Music

One Comment
  1. get it refretted a guitar is like a best friend.

    Great post on the subject. Rock music punk music – all the great stuff comes from bands who kick against the status quo.

    Andras session guitarist and rock guitarist

Leave a Reply

