Skip to content

Updates and such, also Dual Monitors rock!

08/10/2012

So I thought this would be a great time for an update.  I am currently in the band called Slackjaw.

You know what?

I really don’t feel like making a public post about my life, as there is nothing extremely interesting going on at this point.

But here:

I have recently purchased a new pc.  I didn’t build it myself, but if I did I probably could’ve gotten a much better pc for my money.  My roommate has purchased a custom built PC; he bought the parts and put the computer together himself.  He now has a better computer than me, when it used to be the other way around.

I’m  not mad, but I’m a bit disappointed in my decision.  I just felt I was getting a good deal anyway.

Most games run absolutely fine.  And my current PC is absolutely easily upgradable.

Now, I am currently running duel monitors (one small one big) in an extremely funny, and awesome way.  My awesome roommate is currently letting me borrow his old monitor, because he got a new one.  Why isn’t he running duel monitors himself you ask?  Well his new video card has a DVI, and HDMI outputs.  He doesn’t have an HDMI cable, and his new monitor didn’t come with one.  So he let me borrow his big 24in widescreen.

He’s a very nice dude.  But I’m DESPERATELY going to miss the big ass monitor when he finally asks for it back!

He also let me borrow an XBOX controller to plug into my PC.  I’m not sure where he got it from, but I plugged it into a USB port.  It was like heaven; every game I tried it on recognized everything.  I have an old Logitech Dual Action controller and it was far from a seamless integration.  I had to manually set each button on the controller to a key on the keyboard.  It’s possible, but it’s very very slow.

I do like the Logitech a bit better for sidescrollers, because of the placement of the directional pad.  It feels like an old PS controller, which I like.

I’ve been trying out a whole bunch of new games from Steam: Blocks That Matter (from an Indie Game bundle), Dead Space 2, Realm of the Mad God, Sanctum (part of an Indie Bundle), Bastion Demo, and others.  I might do a couple reviews in the near future!  Stay tuned if you like gaming!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

