Skip to content

Intermittent Shutdowns and how I’m dealing with no gaming/video watching.

06/27/2014

Hey blog.  Long time no talk.  So recently I’ve run into a really critical problem with my PC.  I’m getting a white screen and a system failure whenever I start up a game or watch a video.  About 10 seconds after starting any video or game, my monitor displays a white screen and the computer proceeds to shutdown/restart.  I posted on a self-help computer forum (Tom’s Hardware Forums) and I’ve gotten two responses.  I either have a problem with my motherboard, my graphics card, or my PSU.  One response told me it could be my PSU or graphics card; the other stated it could be my PSU or motherboard.  I figured since they both said PSU, I’ll replace that part first and see if it gets rid of the problem.

I’ve ordered the PSU from Amazon.  It’s a Corsair CX600 600 watt PSU bought for $60.  It is supposed to arrive today.  I signed up for the 30-day free trial for Amazon’s Prime service, which gave me free two-day shipping for the purchase.  Today is Friday and I’m glad I won’t have to wait the whole weekend to get this part.  I’ve never replaced a PSU on a computer before, so hopefully I don’t destroy my PC in the process.  The most I’ve done is replacing RAM sticks or a graphics card.  I’m assuming it’s not as difficult as I’m thinking it might be, but I might be wrong.  I wish I had a spare good PC to use until then, but I don’t.  I could hook up my sister’s old PC but it’s at least 15 years old.  I do, however, remember playing FFXI on my sister’s PC so it’s not too bad I guess.

Dealing with no entertainment from my PC has been difficult.  I am struggling to get rid of my boredom every day.  As a guy with ADD, it’s difficult to find something you can really stick on.  I’m glad I have my guitar and my phone or else I’d be going crazy right about now.  I don’t have a TV, so all my entertainment is either from my PC or my phone connected to WiFi and Netflix/YouTube.

I was planning out a build for a game called Path Of Exile on a website called “PoEBuilder.com” and my pc did the white screen shutdown thing.  I was stunned…how could my pc not be able to handle a simple skill-tree viewer for a video game?  It’s not even a game or a video, just a website.  But it seemed to be too much for my PSU/GraphicsCard/Motherboard to handle.  I’m feeling trapped, and I hope that this new PSU fixes the problem

Anyway, wish me luck on my endeavors.  Rock on

-Carl Cap

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

